1. Home
  2.  » Pennsylvania

Lemon Law Requirements In Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Headquarters
445 Fort Pitt Blvd., Ste. 240
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

For a claim under the Pennsylvania Lemon Law, you must have a new vehicle registered in PA or new vehicle purchased in another state and registered for the first time in Pennsylvania. Your car must be used primarily for personal, family or household purposes. The problem with your car must have started during the first 12 months of ownership or first 12,000 miles — whichever occurs first. The problem must also substantially impair the use, safety or value of the vehicle.

You are required under the Pennsylvania Lemon Law to give the dealer or manufacturer a reasonable number of attempts to repair the vehicle. Normally, a reasonable number of attempts means three service visits OR 30 days out of service. Keep in mind, the 30 total days out of service do not need to be consecutive.

Do all three times in to the dealership for repair have to be in the first year or 12,000 miles?
No. Only the first repair attempt has to be within the first 12,000 miles or first year, whichever came first. The rest of the repair visits can come after that.

Don’t Meet The Lemon Law Requirements In Pennsylvania?

Many vehicles do not qualify under the Pennsylvania Lemon Law. However, there are still legal remedies. State and federal breach of warranty laws may allow you to recover money for your car — while keeping your car — if your car has a problem that could not be repaired in a reasonable amount of time and attempts.

There is no out-of-pocket cost to you, so you have nothing to lose by calling an experienced lemon law attorney to find out if you may be entitled to money for your defective car.

What Problems Are Covered by Lemon Law In Pennsylvania?

Some examples of problems covered under Pennsylvania Lemon Law include transmission slipping, steering vibration, steering pulling, rough shifting, failure to start, slow starting, stalling and hesitation, water leaks, oil leaks, engine knocking, engine failure, transmission leaks and many, many other problems. If you have questions about whether or not your car’s problems will qualify you for protection under the Pennsylvania Lemon Law, please contact us at 1-800-745-5259.

Are Leases Covered Under The Pennsylvania Lemon Law?

Yes. The Pennsylvania Lemon Law covers both leased cars and purchased vehicles in the state.

Are Boats, Motorcycles Or ATVs Covered?

Unfortunately no. However, owners of these vehicles may be able to receive cash under state and federal breach of warranty laws. If you have a defective boat, motorcycle or ATV, feel free to call attorney Christina Gill Roseman today for free legal help at 1-800-745-5259.

Get Free Legal Help With Your Lemon Car In Pennsylvania – Call 1-800-745-5259

Under the lemon law and warranty laws, the manufacturer is responsible for paying your attorneys’ fees and costs. Regardless of whether you win or lose, you do not pay costs or fees out of your pocket, so there is no risk to you.